Sam Houston State’s Hanna Alberto Awarded Women’s Golf Player of the Year

first_imgNameSchoolClassHometown Jenna PhillipsSam Houston StateJr.Austin, Texas Kaity Cummings3*Houston BaptistJr.Waco, Texas Emma Svensson3Central ArkansasJr.Halmstad, Sweden FRISCO, Texas – Sam Houston State’s Hanna Alberto is the 2017-18 Southland Conference Women’s Golf Player of the Year, the league announced Thursday with the all-conference teams. All yearly awards are presented by Ready Nutrition.Alberto, a two-time selection to the first team, was voted for the top player honor after a season in which she won three tournaments in her sophomore campaign. The native of Kingwood, Texas, led the conference in average score at 72.73. Her 1.21 score vs. par was the best in the league. At the Southland Conference Women’s Golf Championship, Alberto placed second and two strokes off the lead, carding a 71 in her last round. Her low round of the season was 67.Central Arkansas’ Geraldine Wong was voted to the second team and garnered the Freshman of the Year distinction. She ended the season ranked sixth for scoring average at 75.07. Lamar’s Eva Martinez, a sophomore from Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Spain, is the Newcomer of the Year. She carded a 76.08 average for the year.Leading his Houston Baptist squad to its second consecutive Southland title, David Shuster is the Coach of the Year. He picks up the accolade for the second consecutive season. The Huskies are set to compete at the NCAA Austin Regional from May 7-9.UCA leads the first team with junior Emma Svensson and senior Fernanda Lira each claiming their third all-conference selection. The two earned individual selections to the NCAA Tallahassee Regional, the first time in program history the Bears have accomplished that feat. They will tee off Monday, May 7.The 2018 Southland Championship top finisher, HBU’s Kaity Cummings, also earns her third selection to an all-conference team. The junior from Waco, Texas, shot one-under in the championship round to win the title after heading into the day eight-over par. This is Cummings’ first nod to the conference’s first team.Lamar’s Elodie Chapelet secured her second consecutive selection to the first team, finishing the year ranked fourth in the conference for scoring average at 74.08.Lexi Brooks of HBU was voted to the second team to receive her third selection in as many years. Sam Houston’s Jenna Phillips and Texas A&M-Corpus Christi’s Autumn Bynum round out the all-conference picks.All-Conference teams and individual superlatives are voted on by each league school’s head coach and sports information director. Voting for oneself or one’s own athletes is not permitted.2017-18 Southland Women’s Golf All-Conference TeamsPlayer of the Year: Hanna Alberto, Sam Houston StateFreshman of the Year: Geraldine Wong, Central ArkansasNewcomer of the Year: Eva Martinez, LamarCoach of the Year: David Shuster, Houston BaptistFirst Team Honorable Mention: Sara Zrnikova, Houston Baptist; Madison Frerking, UIW.2 Two-time All-Conference selection3 Three-time All-Conference selection* 2018 Southland Championship top finisher Elodie Chapelet2LamarSo.Souraide, France Second Team Autumn BynumTexas A&M-Corpus ChristiSo.Montgomery, Texas Fernanda Lira3Central ArkansasSr.Mexico City, Mexico NameSchoolClassHometown Geraldine WongCentral ArkansasFr.Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia Hanna Alberto2Sam Houston StateSo.Kingwood, Texas Eva MartinezLamarSo.Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Spain Lexi Brooks3Houston BaptistJr.Kingwood, Texaslast_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *